EU-hosted7 sub-processorschecked 12 August 2026

TimerOS vs Time Doctor: invoicing and a client portal in our €8 tier

Invoicing and a client portal are in the €8 plan, and your client pays nothing for the portal. EU hosting on every plan; tracking is on Windows today, macOS in development.

  • No screenshots, no keystroke logging
  • EU-hosted · 7 sub-processors
  • Client portal at your own address
  • Hours become invoices, from €8

TimerOS is Vezoft’s flagship product. Every Time Doctor fact below was read off the company’s own pages on 12 August 2026 and links to its source.

Automatic tracking runs in the Windows app; the macOS build is in development. Everything else runs in the browser.

14 days with the full plan, nothing cut. The card is saved at signup and nothing is charged if you cancel before the end. After that, from €8 a month for one person or €15 per user, billed annually. Full pricing.

For freelancers and for teams of two to fifty. Larger organisations run on Enterprise.

Stay on Time Doctor if
  • You track off Windows today. Its pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src Our macOS build is in development.
  • You need its integration catalogue: 60+ from the Standard plan, where ours are on Enterprise and not shipped. src
  • Budget decides it: Basic is $6.67 per user / month on annual billing, against our €8 for one seat and €15 per user for a team. Dollars against euros, not converted. src
Switch to TimerOS if
  • A client, or a works council, asks where staff data is processed and you want a short answer: databases, application compute and uploaded files in the EU, on every plan, from an EU contracting entity, with seven sub-processors on the published list.
  • You are one person billing by the hour and want tracked time, projects, invoices and a client portal inside one €8 subscription billed annually, instead of four tools.
  • You want the week to end in an invoice: hours attach to projects and tasks that carry budgets, and become invoices in the same workspace, so you can see which client is paying for the time it takes.
EU vs 6
Default storage location

jurisdictions. Ours: databases, application compute and uploaded files in the EU. Time Doctor stores personal information in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src

Windows today
Where tracking runs

is where TimerOS tracking runs; the macOS build is in development. Time Doctor’s pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src

7 vs 21
Published sub-processors

sub-processors on each company’s published list. Time Doctor’s names no jurisdiction for any of them. ours theirs

Neither the location nor the count is a verdict on anyone’s security. Both companies publish a sub-processor list, both carry SCCs, and both can sit inside a lawful GDPR setup. What differs is the default and the paperwork it generates. Every figure here is sourced in the rows below.

What you get with TimerOS

A timer the person can see

The timer sits in a bar the tracked person sees all day. Screenshots and keystroke logging do not exist in the product, so there is nothing to switch off or review. download

Data in the EU, a contract with an EU company

Databases in Frankfurt and Ireland, application compute in Frankfurt, files in Cloudflare R2 under the EU jurisdiction restriction, 7 published sub-processors. Your contract is with Vezoft in Bulgaria, under EU law. our list

A client portal at your own address

Your client signs in at your-slug.timeros.ai and sees their projects, approvals, support requests, invoices, chat and whiteboard. A client takes no seat and pays nothing. features

From hours to invoice, without an export

Hours attach to a project with a budget and become an invoice in the same workspace. Nothing is exported to another tool. Pricing starts at €8 a month. our pricing

What we do not have: tracking off Windows, integrations beyond the AI assistant connector, a SOC 2 report or a free plan — see “Where Time Doctor is the better choice”.

01The product

Your team’s workspace, and your client’s

One subscription runs both. Your client signs in at your own branded address and sees their side of the same job, with no seat, no licence and nothing to install.

What the person being tracked sees all day: a bar that stays on top, showing the state it is recording and the running total. Nothing is hidden from them — there is no silent mode, and no screenshots to review afterwards.

About a minute, from signing in to a tracked day. Nothing loads from YouTube until you press play. Watch on YouTube.

Your team desktop app + web

The workspace your team works in, live and clickable. Shown here as the Windows desktop app, which is where tracking runs; the web app at app.timeros.ai is the same workspace without it.

Your client your-slug.timeros.ai

The same work from the client’s side: their projects, their invoices, their tickets. Included from the €8 Freelancer tier up.

The client’s side, at your own address. Nothing loads from YouTube until you press play. Watch on YouTube.

02Comparison

Head to head

12 rows, each one sourced, so you can check all of it without taking our word for anything. Where a fact could not be established from Time Doctor’s own documentation the cell says so instead of guessing, including where the gap is ours.

TimerOS
Time Doctor
What you can actually do with itThe work between tracking an hour and getting paid for it. We chose these rows, so they favour us.
Project management
Projects, tasks, budgets and a whiteboard the client approves work on. From the Freelancer tier up. features
Project management
“Projects & Tasks” from the Basic plan. src
Client portal
A branded client portal at your own address (your-slug.timeros.ai): projects, approvals, tickets, invoices and chat, with no seat billed for the client. Every tier. features
Client portal
“Client Login Access”, listed on the Premium plan. src
Invoicing
Invoices raised from tracked hours in the same workspace, on every tier. Full P&L including payroll is Enterprise. our pricing
Invoicing
Not stated on the pages checked: no invoicing or client-billing row appears in the four plan cards, the “Compare all features” grid, or the features page. src
Support desk for your clients
Support tickets and incident war rooms your client can be brought into, on every tier. features
Support desk for your clients
Not stated on the pages checked: the compare grid’s “Ticket portal” is Time Doctor’s own support channel to you on all four plans, not a helpdesk you operate. src
Integrations
None shipped. Integrations are listed on Enterprise but are not built yet. roadmap
Integrations
“60+ integrations” from the Standard plan. src
What it does to the people using itWhat is recorded, and what your team has to agree to.
Where tracking runs
Windows 10 and 11 today, as a desktop app, with the timer visible in a bar the tracked person can see at all times; the macOS build is in development. Projects, invoicing, approvals and everything else run in a browser at app.timeros.ai, and your clients sign in separately at your own branded portal address. download
Where tracking runs
Its pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src
Screenshots
None. The feature is not built, so there is nothing to switch off. The Windows app reads the active window title, application name and browser host in memory to classify the time; what reaches the server is the label, its confidence and hours per day. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine.
Screenshots
“Screenshots are an optional Time Doctor feature”, included from the Basic plan. For the UK and EEA specifically, “the Screencasts feature is disabled by default to support compliance with applicable data protection laws”. src
Keystroke logging
None.
Keystroke logging
“Time Doctor is not a keylogger… The specific keys pressed are never recorded.” It counts keystroke and mouse volume to derive an activity percentage. src
What it costsEntry price, and what happens when the trial ends.
Entry price
  • Freelancer €8 / month billed annually, €10 month to month. One seat.
  • Startup €15 per user / month billed annually, €18 monthly. Up to 50 seats.
  • Enterprise is early access and not self-serve.
  • No free tier. The 14-day trial takes a card at signup. Nothing is charged if you cancel. our pricing
Entry price
  • Basic $6.67 per user / month billed annually, $8.00 month-to-month.
  • Standard $11.67 / $14.00.
  • Premium $16.70 / $20.00.
  • Enterprise custom.
  • 14 days free with no card required. src

The public pricing page rendered its price fields empty when we checked, so these come from Time Doctor’s own knowledge base.

Where your data livesThe part your client’s procurement team asks about.
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
EU. Databases on MongoDB Atlas pinned to AWS eu-central-1 (Frankfurt) and eu-west-1 (Ireland); application compute on Render in Frankfurt; uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. our list
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
The privacy policy states personal information is stored in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src The sub-processor list names “AWS — Hosting” and “GCP — Cloud” with no regions given. src
EU region option
Default on every plan. There is no region toggle, because there is no other region.
EU region option
Not stated on the pages checked: no customer-selectable EU residency option appears in the privacy policy, the DPA, the sub-processor list or the security page. src
Sub-processors
Seven. Two are EU companies processing EU-to-EU (Lettermint B.V. and Zoho Corporation B.V., both Netherlands). Stripe and Google LLC involve US processing; Google only for Play distribution and push on the Android build. our list
Sub-processors
21 named, with no jurisdiction shown for any of them and no last-updated date on the page. src
What you can actually do with itThe work between tracking an hour and getting paid for it. We chose these rows, so they favour us.5
Project management
TimerOS
Projects, tasks, budgets and a whiteboard the client approves work on. From the Freelancer tier up. features
Time Doctor
“Projects & Tasks” from the Basic plan. src
Client portal
TimerOS
A branded client portal at your own address (your-slug.timeros.ai): projects, approvals, tickets, invoices and chat, with no seat billed for the client. Every tier. features
Time Doctor
“Client Login Access”, listed on the Premium plan. src
Invoicing
TimerOS
Invoices raised from tracked hours in the same workspace, on every tier. Full P&L including payroll is Enterprise. our pricing
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: no invoicing or client-billing row appears in the four plan cards, the “Compare all features” grid, or the features page. src
Support desk for your clients
TimerOS
Support tickets and incident war rooms your client can be brought into, on every tier. features
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: the compare grid’s “Ticket portal” is Time Doctor’s own support channel to you on all four plans, not a helpdesk you operate. src
Integrations
TimerOS
None shipped. Integrations are listed on Enterprise but are not built yet. roadmap
Time Doctor
“60+ integrations” from the Standard plan. src
What it does to the people using itWhat is recorded, and what your team has to agree to.3
Where tracking runs
TimerOS
Windows 10 and 11 today, as a desktop app, with the timer visible in a bar the tracked person can see at all times; the macOS build is in development. Projects, invoicing, approvals and everything else run in a browser at app.timeros.ai, and your clients sign in separately at your own branded portal address. download
Time Doctor
Its pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src
Screenshots
TimerOS
None. The feature is not built, so there is nothing to switch off. The Windows app reads the active window title, application name and browser host in memory to classify the time; what reaches the server is the label, its confidence and hours per day. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine.
Time Doctor
“Screenshots are an optional Time Doctor feature”, included from the Basic plan. For the UK and EEA specifically, “the Screencasts feature is disabled by default to support compliance with applicable data protection laws”. src
Keystroke logging
TimerOS
None.
Time Doctor
“Time Doctor is not a keylogger… The specific keys pressed are never recorded.” It counts keystroke and mouse volume to derive an activity percentage. src
What it costsEntry price, and what happens when the trial ends.1
Entry price
TimerOS
  • Freelancer €8 / month billed annually, €10 month to month. One seat.
  • Startup €15 per user / month billed annually, €18 monthly. Up to 50 seats.
  • Enterprise is early access and not self-serve.
  • No free tier. The 14-day trial takes a card at signup. Nothing is charged if you cancel. our pricing
Time Doctor
  • Basic $6.67 per user / month billed annually, $8.00 month-to-month.
  • Standard $11.67 / $14.00.
  • Premium $16.70 / $20.00.
  • Enterprise custom.
  • 14 days free with no card required. src

The public pricing page rendered its price fields empty when we checked, so these come from Time Doctor’s own knowledge base.

Where your data livesThe part your client’s procurement team asks about.3
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
TimerOS
EU. Databases on MongoDB Atlas pinned to AWS eu-central-1 (Frankfurt) and eu-west-1 (Ireland); application compute on Render in Frankfurt; uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. our list
Time Doctor
The privacy policy states personal information is stored in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src The sub-processor list names “AWS — Hosting” and “GCP — Cloud” with no regions given. src
EU region option
TimerOS
Default on every plan. There is no region toggle, because there is no other region.
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: no customer-selectable EU residency option appears in the privacy policy, the DPA, the sub-processor list or the security page. src
Sub-processors
TimerOS
Seven. Two are EU companies processing EU-to-EU (Lettermint B.V. and Zoho Corporation B.V., both Netherlands). Stripe and Google LLC involve US processing; Google only for Play distribution and push on the Android build. our list
Time Doctor
21 named, with no jurisdiction shown for any of them and no last-updated date on the page. src
03Hosting

What the hosting difference actually changes

timedoctor.com/privacy-policy

Its privacy policy lists where personal information is stored:

Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU
Read it on Time Doctor’s sitechecked 12 August 2026
Where TimerOS stores your data
European Union
Where Time Doctor says it stores data
ColombiaIndiaSingaporeUnited StatesUnited KingdomEU

Time Doctor’s privacy policy names six places personal information is stored: Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, the UK and the EU. src Publishing that list is more transparency than many vendors offer, and the transfers are covered by SCCs.

What it changes is the shape of the paperwork. Six jurisdictions means a transfer impact assessment across six sets of access laws, and the honest answer to “where is our staff data?” is a list rather than a place. If nobody has ever asked you that, this row will not decide your purchase. If a works council, a public-sector client or an auditor has asked, it usually decides it alone. To Time Doctor’s credit, for UK and EEA customers it disables screencasts by default. src

04Plans

What one TimerOS subscription covers

Freelancer is the full product for one person: client portal, invoicing and support, nothing cut. Startup adds everything a team needs, up to 50 seats; Enterprise has no seat cap and is in early access.

FreelancerFor one person
€8
/ month billed annually · €10 monthly · one seat
  • Projects and tasks
  • Invoicing and billing
  • Basic expenses and a basic profit overview
  • Support tickets
  • A branded client portal — chat, whiteboard approvals, incident war rooms
Start with Freelancer
StartupFor teams
€15
/ user / month billed annually · €18 monthly
  • Everything in Freelancer
  • Team management, with hours per person in one workspace
  • Shifts and scheduling
  • Time-off approvals and leave balances
  • Company goals, awards and team performance

Up to 50 seats. Beyond that is Enterprise, which is early access and not self-serve.

Start with Startup
Enterprise
Early access
Not self-serve
  • Full payroll
  • Unlimited departments and a company-wide org chart
  • Custom roles and permissions
  • Full expenses (vendor bills, approvals)
  • Full P&L including payroll

Single sign-on, an audit log, third-party integrations and dedicated support are on this tier’s list but are not shipped yet — they are on the roadmap.

05Switching

What switching actually involves

  • Install is per machine. The Windows app on the machines being tracked, with the macOS build in development; nothing to install for managers or for clients.
  • There is no bulk import. No CSV import today. Teams start on a period boundary and keep the old tool read-only for history.
  • Your clients get their own address. A branded portal at your own subdomain, not a login to our dashboard.
  • There is no SOC 2 report. No Type I, no Type II. If a client’s security review begins with that document, we will not pass it.
  • Cancelling is self-serve. The workspace owner cancels from the Subscription page; nothing is charged if you do it inside the 14 days.
06Where it is better

Where Time Doctor is the better choice

Four cases where we would point you to Time Doctor. Better to know now than in month two.

  • Apps for Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile

    Its pricing page lists Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps. Our tracking is on Windows today, the macOS build is in development, and our web app deliberately does not track. A mixed-OS team is a real reason to stay. src

  • 60+ integrations from the Standard plan

    Time Doctor lists 60+ integrations from its Standard plan. Ours sit on Enterprise and are not shipped yet. If the tool has to feed an existing PM or payroll system, that gap decides it. src

  • Video screen recording and an executive dashboard on Premium

    Its Premium plan lists work-life balance metrics, an executive dashboard, video screen recording, connectivity tracking and irregular-keyboard-activity detection. We build almost none of that. If that layer is what you want, Time Doctor has it and we do not. src

  • Screencasts off by default in the UK and EEA

    Screencasts are off by default in the UK and EEA. Nobody there has to find the setting and switch them off. src

If none of those describe you
You give up a lower entry price and a wider platform list. You get EU hosting by default, 7 sub-processors instead of 21, and an EU contracting entity, Vezoft in Bulgaria.
07Questions

Questions people ask before signing up

Does it take screenshots of my screen, or log what I type?

No. Not even as a setting you switch off. Neither feature exists in the product, so there is nothing to disable and nothing to review afterwards. The Windows app reads the active window title, the application name and, in a browser, the site’s domain, in memory, to work out what the time was spent on; what reaches the server is the label, how confident the classification is, and hours per day. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine, not ours. The timer itself lives in a bar the tracked person can see all day. There is no silent mode.

Is there a free plan, and does the trial take a card?

You get 14 days of the full plan, with nothing cut or locked, before anything is charged. There is no free plan, and yes, the trial takes a card at signup: it is saved through Stripe and nothing is charged during the trial. The workspace owner can cancel from the Subscription page in the dashboard before day 14. After that it is €8 a month billed annually for Freelancer (€10 month to month, one seat), or €15 per user per month billed annually for Startup (€18 monthly, up to 50 seats).

I work alone. What do I get for €8, and does my client have to pay?

Projects and tasks, invoicing and billing, basic expenses and a basic profit overview, support tickets, and the full branded client portal at your own address, where your client sees their projects, approvals, tickets, invoices, chat, a whiteboard they approve work on, and incident war rooms. Your client does not consume a seat or a licence and pays nothing. Team management, shifts, leave approvals and goals sit on Startup, not on the €8 tier. Full expenses and a full P&L are on Enterprise, which is early access and not self-serve.

What does my client actually see, and does a client cost me a seat?

Your client signs in at your own branded portal address, not our dashboard, and sees their projects, the approvals waiting on them, their tickets, their invoices, a chat thread with you, a whiteboard where they sign off work, and incident war rooms if something breaks. A client account consumes no seat and no licence, so adding clients does not raise your bill, and the portal is included from the €8 Freelancer tier upward. It is a separate address from app.timeros.ai, where your side of the workspace runs. Do not send clients there.

Can I tell whether a client is making or losing money?

Up to a point. Hours attach to projects and tasks that carry budgets, and those hours become invoices in the same workspace, so you can compare what a client took against what it billed. Freelancer and Startup include basic expenses and a basic profit overview. Full expenses with vendor bills and approvals, and a full P&L including payroll, are on the Enterprise tier, which is early access and not self-serve.

Half of us are on Macs. Can we use it?

Not for tracking today, but for everything else, yes. Automatic tracking runs on the Windows desktop app; there is no Linux or mobile tracking. It starts when the machine is signed in to and classifies activity on the device itself. Everything else runs in a browser: your team at app.timeros.ai, which does everything except tracking, and your clients at your own portal address. Managers and clients install nothing. A mixed team can share the workspace: a Mac-based designer can be assigned work, approved and invoiced. Their hours will not track themselves yet. If tracked hours off Windows are the point of the purchase today, check each vendor’s own platform page, linked in the comparison above. The macOS build is in development; see the roadmap roadmap.

My client asks where the data is processed. What do I send them?

Databases on MongoDB Atlas in Frankfurt and Ireland, application compute on Render in Frankfurt, uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. Your contract is with Vezoft, a Bulgarian company under EU law imprint, and the full sub-processor list is seven names, published, alongside our DPA our DPA. You can send links instead of writing an answer. We will not hand you a line saying nothing ever leaves the EU. The Cloudflare CDN edge that serves the pages is global, and Stripe and Google involve US processing. Stripe and Google are on the same published list. The accurate version is scoped: databases, application compute and uploaded files. And we do not hold SOC 2.

The other tool is cheaper per seat. Why should I pay more?

Sometimes it is cheaper. The price rows in the table above are quoted from each vendor’s own pricing page, in the currency each one publishes, with the date we checked. We have not converted anything. Two things to check first: whether the plan has a seat minimum, which changes what one person actually pays, and which of the things you need are on that entry plan rather than a higher one. Client login, invoicing and support tickets sit in our €8 tier; if you buy those from someone else today, add what they cost before comparing per-seat prices. And if entry price is the binding constraint, buy the cheaper plan. Better that than cancelling in month two.

What do the other tools have that you do not?

Integrations: none are shipped. They appear on the Enterprise tier list and are not built. SOC 2: we do not hold it, in any form. If procurement begins there, that is a real reason to choose something else. Screenshots and keystroke logging: neither feature exists in the product, so if you need visual evidence of work we cannot produce it. Tracking on anything other than the Windows desktop app: today only Windows, with the macOS build in development. Payroll, unlimited departments, a company-wide org chart, single sign-on and an audit log: all Enterprise, which is early access and not self-serve. And a free plan: we have none, and the 14-day trial takes a card. The comparison rows above cite each vendor’s own page, with the date we checked it, for the facts we can verify; for anything they do not cover, read the vendor’s page rather than take our word for it.

More comparisons

Compare the others

Try it against Time Doctor with your own week of work

Track a real working week on a Windows machine. Raise one invoice from those hours. Let one client into the portal and see what they see. If it does not work for you, cancel from the Subscription page inside the trial and nothing is charged.

14 days with the full plan, nothing cut. The card is saved at signup and nothing is charged if you cancel before the end. After that, from €8 a month for one person or €15 per user, billed annually. Full pricing.

Sources and trademarks
Time Doctor is a trademark of its respective owner. TimerOS is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Mystaff.com, LLC or Time Doctor. Every claim above was checked on 12 August 2026 against these pages and may have changed since: Privacy policy, Sub-processors, Customer DPA, Pricing (platforms and plans), Pricing (knowledge base), Security and compliance. Prices are quoted in the currency each vendor publishes and are not converted. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will correct it.